Youtube Rakes in $$$

I’m not exactly sure how I feel about youtube stars making hundreds of thousands of dollars.  Personally, I don’t quite understand the fixation with silly youtube skits or shows.  It irks me a little to see millions of people watching Mr. Buckley make fun of celebrities, but won’t take the time to read about national and international issues or even vote.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a good laugh but I honestly feel like my brain cells are deteriorating watching some of the most popular skits on youtube.  Also, I am definitely not saying that all youtube sensations are trash, but some are completely lacking in creativity or smarts and yet, they get paid the big bucks.

I feel like this article written by Diana Craig sums up my feelings pretty well.  How Rebecca Black pulled in $45,ooo for her song Friday baffles me.  $45,ooo dollars for these words.

“It’s Friday, Friday
Gotta get down on Friday
Everybody’s lookin’ forward to the weekend, weekend
Friday, Friday
Gettin’ down on Friday
Everybody’s lookin’ forward to the weekend

Partyin’, partyin’ (Yeah)
Partyin’, partyin’ (Yeah)
Fun, fun, fun, fun
Lookin’ forward to the weekend”

I’ll never understand.

The article also mentioned the popular JennaMarbles videos.  She gets paid a lot of money to make videos about how diets work or how to get boys to like you.  Here’s one that’s titled “Things to do instead of cleaning your room.”

Her salary does not make sense to me.  I don’t think her work is funny or enlightening.

About Laura Murray

My name is Laura Murray and I am a senior Journalism major and politics minor at Ithaca College. Upon graduation, I plan to pursue a career in broadcast journalism as a reporter or a producer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

